horsescotland AGM and Board Appointments 2018

horsescotland AGM and Board Appointments 2018

The horsescotland Annual General Meeting took place on Thursday 25th October 2018 at Forthbank Stadium, Stirling.

The evening started with a welcome reception for our Member Bodies, sportscotland partnership manager, Sandy Hodge, and guest speaker Debbie Dow of ScotEquine ID.

Debbie delivered a very informative and interesting presentation on the ScotEquine Pilot scheme which aims to record identities and location of equines in Scotland. At present there is no such information available. One example of the benefits of this up-to-date information being held within the ScotEquine database is the traceability of equines during disease outbreaks. This would help to identify potential carriers and prevent further spread of the disease. This voluntary scheme aims to work with everyone involved in the equestrian industry with a view to developing and improving equestrianism in Scotland. During the pilot scheme it is free to register your horse/pony and Debbie urged everyone to take advantage of this opportunity. More information is available at

Patrick Print gave his final Chair report as he stepped down after 2 years, along with Board Directors Gillian Elliott and Jane Gilchrist. He gave thanks to Anne Logan for her help in securing £5000 sponsorship from RHASS in support of the horsescotland National Equestrian Awards 2019 and reminded everyone that nominations are now open. Praise was given to our Performance Squad riders, in particular Graham Babes who was part of the gold medal winning team at the European Young Riders Champions and Wills Oakden securing an individual bronze medal at the FEI Eventing Nations Cup in Poland. Finally, Patrick thanked the staff, Board Members and Member Bodies for their support during his term as Chair of horsescotland.

We are very pleased to announce that horsescotland Board Director, Grant Turnbull, has been appointed to be the new horsescotland Chair. As Grant has almost completed 2 terms on the horsescotland board, he will only be able to hold this position for 1 year.  Grant feels privileged to take on the role of Chair and states “I welcome the opportunity to help drive the organisation forward, to increase interaction between Member Bodies and to help support their development in order to raise the profile of Scottish equestrianism.  With the support of an excellent Board of Directors, I have no doubt that horsescotland is in a strong position to achieve this”.

Grant’s first task as Chair was to present Patrick Print and Jane Gilchrist with a gift from horsescotland to thank them for their contribution over the years.

 Patrick          Jane


Gillian Elliott was unable to attend the meeting but was presented with her gift at a later date.

In February 2018, Vicky Campbell was co-opted onto the Board as Finance Director. The attending Full Member Bodies cast their votes in favour of both Vicky’s appointment and of two new Director appointments, BHS nominated Richard Johnston-Smith and Independent nominee Anthony Drew.