horsescotland runs UKCC courses, which, is the national framework that aligns coach education programmes across sports throughout the UK against agreed criteria, including:

  • the endorsement of the coaching qualification
  • the development of appropriate resources to deliver effective and high quality coach education programmes
  • quality assured administration of coach education provision, and
  • quality assured training provision of coach education programmes.

There are 4 levels of recognised qualification:

  • Level 1
    • Assisting a more qualified coach to plan and deliver aspects of a session, under supervision
  • Level 2
    • Preparing, delivering and reviewing a coaching session on your own
  • Level 3
    • Planning, delivering and evaluating an annual programme of coaching
  • Level 4
    • This is currently offered via the British Equestrian Federation